Do

“Actions speak louder than words.” It’s an okay quote. There’s truth to it. But how about this: “actions do more than words.” That one makes more sense to me. 

When I think about what I want to become when I’m older, it freaks me out. Originally, when I was about six, I wanted to be a librarian. I love to read, so naturally I just thought the job would fit. Then, when I was thirteen, I wanted to be a missionary. I went on a mission trip to Mexico that was, as any cliché description of a mission trip would say, “eye-opening.” I loved it. Now, I don’t know what I’ll be. I don’t even know what I want to be. But I do know what I definitely don’t want to be. 

I don’t want to sit at a desk doing something that I don’t care about. I don’t want to invest years and years into a job that I only have for the money. Money scares me. It really, really does. People do so much just to get it, and it always disappoints them afterwards. So no…I would never want to have a job just so I could have more of it. 

I want to do something that changes people. I want to do. I don’t want to talk about how I can change the world, I don’t want to map out my vision, I don’t want to write an awesome speech that a bunch of people here once, get inspired by, and then forget.

I need to find something that connects me to people that need change. I want to dive right into that place. I want to spend every day with the people I meet there. I don’t want to become a figurehead that pops into someone’s life for five minutes just to give a speech that dreams about what could be if we could just change. I want to sit here and love people and work with them. I want to fight for them. 

Here is a quote I heard: “All that is needed for the forces of evil to triumph is for enough good men and women to do nothing.”

There are too many people sitting there, waiting for something good to happen. I want to do something with my life that lets me fight for what I love. My biggest fear is that I will settle into a comfortable place, and watch all the action. 

So, I hope I find some sort of job that fits this description. Or that job finds me somehow. I’m not too worried about it. I just can’t wait to see what will end up happening for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

